Website Manager

American Youth Soccer Organization Providing world class youth soccer programs that enrich children's lives.

San Carlos AYSO - Region 107

History of San Carlos AYSO

In winter of 1969 there were 100 AYSO players scattered across Northern California.  AYSO came to San Carlos in 1974, with just a few teams, under Emmett MacCorkle.  In 1976, the San Carlos Region was chartered under the National Organization by Dick Knickerbocker and was recognized to operate within the city boundaries of the City of San Carlos.  Dick went on to serve as commissioner for seven years, and as a result of his dedication, our annual Knickerbocker Cup Tournament was named after him.

Bob Masters, for his outstanding contribution to youth soccer, was given the distinction of joining Dick Knickerbocker in the renaming of our annual tournament to the Knickerbocker-Masters Cup.  Bob served on the board for eight years, including three years as Regional Commissioner. 

With the help of hundreds of volunteers over the years, soccer in San Carlos has continued to grow.  The first few teams had to travel to neighboring cities in order to compete with other teams in AYSO.  Today, we have nive age divisions with five of them having enough teams to compete within our own region.  In 1991, for the first time, San Carlos had over 1,000 children in the program, and currently we have grown to approximately 1,500 kids and 175 teams!  We are the beneficiaries of the effort, skill, know-how, good will and wonderful positive attitudes of many people over the years; thanks to those who have worked so hard, we have a successful soccer program in San Carlos!


Past San Carlos AYSO Commissioners

Emmett MacCorkle

1974 - 1975

Dick Knickerbocker

1976 - 1982

Frank Moceri

1983 - 1984

Quentin Koller


Bob Masters

1986 - 1988

Ken Staedler

1989 - 1990

Guy Perego

1991 - 1992

Dave Sesin


Jeff Grace

1994 - 1995

Brad Lamont

1996 - 1997

Rod Lehr


Steve Lippi

1999 - 2000

Barbara Billings

2001 - 2002

Raymond Merala

2003 - 2004

Rob Holden

2005 - 2006

Brad Driver

2007 - 2008

John Spottiswood

2009 - 2010

Marten Mills

2011 - 2013

 Jim Ritchie2014 - 2015

Wendy Turner

2016 - 2017

Fred Im

2018 - 2019

 Paul Briant

2020 - 2023

Jessica Flores 

2024 - Present 

National Partners

Support Our Local Sponsors

Contact Us

San Carlos AYSO

P.O. Box 1462 
San Carlos, California 94070

Email Us: [email protected]
Phone : 888-702-7402
Copyright © 2024 San Carlos AYSO  |  Privacy Statement |  Terms Of Use |  License Agreement |  Children's Privacy Policy  Login